Skip to content

2 out of 10 men are from Venus

February 2, 2009

Yes it happens. I hear talk of a woman (it’s almost urban myth), who has a boyfriend who ‘gets it’!!! He doesn’t need it all explaining in simple terms, he likes doing stuff she likes doing as well as doing stuff men like doing, you know, building things, painting and being handy. A telling sign that this man is in fact from Venus is the fact that he can’t introduce us to his fellow upstanding men because most of his friends are girls!

Yet again I despair at the mad world of dating. It’s this ‘right girl, wrong time‘ story…its BORING! This new film that’s out; He’s just not that into you, well I bought the book right off the back of SATC many years ago and found it a very liberating experience. It’s actually quite nice to have a definitve stand. The problem is not dealing with the fact that the guy isn’t interested, its the sideways, not quite saying what’s up, see if you can work it out yourself approach that guiles me. If he hasn’t called you for a week because he’s so ‘busy’…..he’s just not that into you!

A Venetian man understands why not saying something is more problematic that what needs to be said. Maybe the problem is that too many men are now feeling Venetian; sensitive and tortured and not able to handle it the way a woman can so they hide. While too many women (including myself) are starting to feel a bit Martian; 1 + 1 = 2, say what you mean and let me get on with what I was doing before you turned up!

www.venusneedsmen.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    February 6, 2009 2:54 am

    Okay why do you not have any comments (Yes I just shelled!) This blog os HILARIOUS!!)

  2. LoloBloggs permalink
    February 6, 2009 9:59 am

    I ask myself this all the time! But Google Analytics is a gem, I now know I have a readership, even if they choose to stay out of my comments! 😉

  3. StandTall-The Activist permalink
    February 9, 2009 12:06 pm

    Lol. I belief we are all from the same planet but our socialization has reconstructed a lot of things in us. Well, who says we cannot rearrange for better results?

  4. Puppet Master permalink
    February 13, 2009 11:19 am

    Emasculated men and empowered women makes for interesting dating. Men are still expected to take the lead (maybe?) but then even things like paying for the meal are a mine field. Should it be the person who did the inviting for the date? Should the man pay? Will the woman be offended if they do? Should it be 50:50 if there really is equality. Does that kill any romance dividing up the bill… yada yada yada.

    That’s why countries that are socially 100 years or so behind the UK are so refreshing. Roles seem much clearer! Interestingly, a salsa teacher said that is why British men are generally so rubbish at salsa – they don’t know how to/never had to/feel they shouldn’t take the lead and chose the next move.

  5. LoloBloggs permalink
    February 13, 2009 11:32 am

    @ Standtall well I think the rearranging has already started and it’s not looking like it’s for the better. Men are just plain confused!

    @ Puppet Master I think you have just added a wonderful insight to my rant!

    Womens’s lib scared the hell out of western men and now they actually have no idea where to start. But I stand resolute, I can’t sympathise. I’m ready to be a kept woman (;-) and have babies, but they need to at least let me know they are able to take the role of the traditional man….no?

Leave a Reply

