Skip to content

WTF?! Facebook

March 4, 2009

My facebook says I have 316 friends…YEAH RIGHT! I don’t have nor want that many friends. What it actually means is there are 316 people who I know on Facebook. Now, knowing them does not mean I am friends with them and it certainly does not mean I want them all over my business!

And this is the problem, I clearly have too much of my business on FB. I’m the girl who always has a camera and is snappy happy as hell. I also have friends far and away and somehow FB seems to be a nicer way to catch up than email (clearly a sucka)?!

Last year, when it became clear I have multiple identities to maintain with the various people I know on FB; friend, sister, niece, work colleague, acquantaince, I met you once at so and so’s thingy, ex-classmate etc etc. I sat down for 2 hours and worked out how to manipulate my privacy settings. Trust me, the investment in time is worth it!

I now have the following categories of friends:

Full Access – What it says on the tin, out of 316, only 40 friends have this privilage

Limited Profile – Can’t see some of my photo albums or commenting activity

Acquaintance – Get to see my name, my profile pic and selected info (email address) and none of my photo albums unless they are in a specified photo, they also can’t see my status messages or my wall posts

Ex-Uni – As above, but get to see my education info too

This lot below might as well not be my ‘friends’ given that they can’t see practically anything.

Bosses – It’s all well and good having a work network, but I’m not stupid enough to get sacked for my status messages thank-you very much!

Extended Family – The Uncles, Aunts who think they’re ‘hip’ and younger nieces, nephews and cousins who I need to keep an eye on but shouldn’t know about grown folks business!

Quarrantine – This currently has two occupants (guess which sex they are?) who I like to keep an eye on (I know, I know..sneaky) but who I don’t want to keep an eye on me! This will also be the home of those who are downgraded from any of the above categories for any reason.

So why have them as friends in the first place? Well occassionally there is an event you all share, or a piece of information you need and you want to access these people. Also there is an element of voyeur in me and what the heck, that’s what social networking is about…wasting time peeking into people’s lives!

I’m increasingly using FB less with regard to putting some photos and discussions on there, re-discovering the phone is good (although I miss the days of unlimited phonecalls, all this monthly credit crap is not easy-oh!) and learning I DO NOT need everyone to know everything about me!

In the meantime, this lil 5 minute pecha kucha video is a good lesson to beware who can see what you’re doing on FB!

My Social Graph Is Getting Weird from Jeremy Fuksa:Creative Generalist on Vimeo.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Shubby Doo permalink
    March 4, 2009 7:42 pm

    i’m with you…i have similar list for my privacy settings…316 friends…lol…u dey try…i have no problems ignoring friend requests even if i do know u but we are not friends…

  2. LoloBloggs permalink
    March 5, 2009 10:24 am

    Would you believe me if I told you I regularly ignore? And I’ve actually deleted ‘friends’ too?! Crazy!

  3. Afronuts permalink
    March 7, 2009 4:25 pm

    Wow! Come oh, are all those options available on facebook? Cuz I need to activate every kind of option i can find…

    too many nutcases on facebook!

  4. LoloBloggs permalink
    March 8, 2009 11:34 pm

    @Afronuts, trust me, not only are these settings there, but its good to get familiar quick time!

    Either that or….shock….leave FB!

  5. Mamarita permalink
    March 10, 2009 6:37 pm

    I think fb should shut down 🙂 Poor Hi-5, they had a great idea

  6. LoloBloggs permalink
    March 10, 2009 10:43 pm

    @ Mamarita, see I hated Hi5, all I got was dodgy people (read men) wanting me to call them and be their special friend?! At least FB allows me to be selective!

Leave a Reply

