Skip to content

Me’shell wrote me a tune

April 2, 2009

I was at the Jazz Cafe on Tuesday watching Me’shell Ndegeocello live. She was fabulous!! I hadn’t heard of this woman until I booked the ticket, although I do remember her boyfriend tune (supreme old skool dayz!), I didn’t know it was her. She totally rocks, like literally. A lil black lady rocker playing a badass bass and doing a slightly odd but endearing little jig while her drummer managed to break the drum head!

My first time eating at Jazz Cafe as well and I think I have a taste for it! No big men blocking my view, I stood when I wanted, sat when I didn’t and even managed to brush shoulders with local minor celebrities Denise Lewis and Trevor Philips (at least I think it was him)!

But let me not digress, this woman is really something. She’s not for everyone; her voice is unmistakeably female, but with the kind of husky tone that makes you close your eyes and image some super sexy guy is whispering in your ear…*sigh. Sounds like some weird homo-erotic fantasy but it isn’t, she just has a really really husky voice! Listen to her Bitter album (slightly depressing theme but hey) and you’ll feel me!

To my surprise and then dismay, she has a song named after me. I’ve been a showgirl with yellow flowers, also a transexual male who manages to walk like a girl and now according to this tune; I’m a paraletic drunk who doesn’t know how to behave and forgets to tip. Go figure. I had a word with Me’shelle afterwards, she tells me it was just a story. Thankfully she really wasn’t talking about me (clearly), just some not up to scratch namesake! People need to stop taking my name in vain I tell ya!

I’ve hunted for a good quality video to share with you guys, but she is very much a live performer not a video/record label fiend, so I’m taking you back in time to remember who she is and how much you loved this song when it first came out.

Enjoy!

P.S. I’m so over hotel living, it’s taken me ages to get this post up. Seriously missing my broadband!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. JustDB permalink
    April 2, 2009 9:55 pm

    LOL @ brushing shoulders with minor celebrities…..Nice song too…… Thanks for sharing…

  2. Puppet Master permalink
    April 3, 2009 1:43 pm

    You forgot about the theme tune written specially for you by the Shapeshifters…

  3. LoloBloggs permalink
    April 3, 2009 11:10 pm

    @JustDB what can I say, mine is the world of minor celebrities!

    @PuppetMaster See, I love that song, but although it’s named after me, they don’t actually mention my name once in the song! Pah!

  4. Healthyeatingwhilebroke permalink
    April 8, 2009 9:39 pm

    I’m glad you had fun. I too only know a few songs by her. There’s this one song called The Teaching… It’s hot!

    The only way to do Jazz Cafe is with dinner, I simply do not stand… Dahling!

  5. LoloBloggs permalink
    April 9, 2009 11:55 pm

    @Healthy Well one was in the lower classes before, now one shall forever be eating at the Jazz Cafe dahling….now that one is posh and wot not…;-)

    Thanks for coming by!

  6. StandTall-The Activist permalink
    April 14, 2009 3:13 pm

    Waoh you really thought she might be talking about you when you havent even met and when what she said in her lyrics was opposite of you.

    I have never heard of her but judging by how you enjoy Me’shell’s song, I think I will lover her songs

Leave a Reply

