Skip to content

Brain dump: African despair, girl geeks, dates and a MacBook Pro

April 9, 2009

I can’t express how much I need the current Easter break. I have been working non stop since Christmas and this little lady needs a break! I’ve got some more time off booked for the end of May but that still feels like ages away! I’ve got two projects to deliver between now and then…erk!

Needless to say I haven’t had much time to blog or read blogs; as I sat down this evening my blog reader was taunting me with over 350 unread posts! As much as I love all the bloggers on my feed, I had to just mark pretty much everything as read and start again. I had a quick scan to see what could catch my eye in 5 minutes but that was really about it!

So this post is a bit of a themed brain dump…if you have a gimmick, why not use it I say!

Afro-Bit….
I would love to see this film from Musa Dieng Kala, “Has God Forsaken Africa?”. It deals with Africans who feel like there is nothing for them on the continent so they risk all they have to get to Europe. I’ll be looking out for screenings or a DVD release to watch the full film, if you know any more let me know!


via: Africa is a Country

My mother worked in Morocco for a while and I saw first hand the misery it takes for someone to risk their lives like this. In that case so many Nigerians would run out of money by the time they got to Morocco, so they’d prostitute, steal, live way below even the face-me-I-face-you accomodation standards of downtown Lagos.

Every once in a while the local police round them up, take them into the desert, strip them of anything they have managed to acquire (money, phones, trainers) and leave them there. Some died, some made it back to a city before death came just to start the cycle again. The Nigerian Embassy started organising a free monthly plane back to Nigeria, they’d get the word out to people to be at the embassy on a certain date and they’d get a free pass home. But there were still those who felt like going home like that was worse than dying trying to get to Europe. I don’t know what that kind of desperation feels like…

Geek Bit….
I do have some new additions to my reader that are keeping me entertained…I’m following a fellow female geek called Leisa Reichelt and Drupal project team’s attempts at crowdsourcing* the redesign of the all singing all dancing CMS (for the uninitiated, Drupal is a platform similar to WordPress for publishing sites and social networks that does loads more). I quite like the idea of getting people to share all their knowledge while you’re getting paid to do a project….might have to knick that one! I’m also quite looking forward to the outcome!

Also new to my reader is GirlsnGadgets. London-based girl geeks with a passion for social media, gadgets, things in pink and making it to SXSW next year. They’re just getting started but I like the idea, I like the content, I sort of know the people (well one person) behind it and I’m thinking maybe one day, I might even contribute.

I’m also quite looking forward to attending AfricaGathering in London at the end of the month which looks like it’s gonna be good, watch this space for a write-up.

*Crowdsourcing is a neologism for the act of taking a task traditionally performed by an employee or contractor, and outsourcing it to an undefined, generally large group of people or community in the form of an open call. (via Wikipedia)

Chic Bit….
So given that there are four days of no responsibility ahead, and although I need to sleep/rest/catch up with myself, a girl gets to wondering what to do with her long weekends. Although there are developments since my SATC inspired request to the world of dating last year, it’s still that whole, what’s going on, what is this, bla bla bla stage where you kinda don’t let yourself get attached because you don’t know if he is that interested, because neither of you want to be too keen, so neither of you are really overdoing anything so you kinda feel like friends but stuff might be happening but its all so…. just…… you know… like…. whatever and yeah….so…you get my drift?! Now I’ve found out he won’t be around at all this weekend, but it’s not like we planned anything anyway so its not like I’m bothered so….yeah………(kicks imaginary dust on the floor..)

Tomorrow night I’m gonna party hard (ode to Donaeo and his never ending repertoire of funky house rockers, sorry can’t find a good embed for this one) with my girlies celebrating another wrong-side of 25 fabulous female, Saturday I might shop. Sunday is church (nergh) and family, then more hard partying just for the sake of it and Monday I’m going to sleep and veg and maybe tidy up my brain so I can do another blog post. Who needs a date…pah!

To top it all off….
My favourite news of the week is that I’ll be taking delivery of my new MacBook next week!! Can I get an amen to that! I’m not going to think about how much it costs ahem…..it’s an investment in my intellectual property and possible future taking-over of the world so the ROI is clearly going to be worth it…ahem….yeah….woohoo! Will I do my own unpacking the Mac video?…hmmm…lets see how I feel when the box arrives!

Happy Easter folks!


14 Comments leave one →
  1. blogoratti permalink
    April 10, 2009 12:18 am

    Would like to see that movie too !!
    As for those that would rather die than go back home…SMH.
    You need really need the break-like you said you’ve been working non stop. Have fun partying!!

  2. webround permalink
    April 10, 2009 1:02 am

    Happy Easter.
    Since the US doesn’t celebrate Easter, I still have to work full time tomorrow and then go home and try to read some jQuery and Jfeed documentation….

  3. Healthyeatingwhilebroke permalink
    April 10, 2009 1:03 am

    I would really like to see that film too. If you manage to find it, please let me know.

    I think buying a MacBook is part of your duty to the economy. You can say you have done your bit to end the credit crunch. LOL

    Happy Easter!

  4. My World permalink
    April 10, 2009 8:23 am

    You have a blast and enjoy the easter…..
    loving your background.

  5. RocNaija permalink
    April 11, 2009 12:05 pm

    Happy Easter..
    I’ll be looking out for the film as well…

  6. LoloBloggs permalink
    April 11, 2009 4:32 pm

    @blogoratti Thank-you hope you enjoy the Easter break as well!

    @webround huh? No Easter Friday?! Who needs a bank holiday when you can spend the day with jQuery…;-)GEEK!

    @Healthy Still no bun?;-) I like your angle, from now on every purchase is an active act of rejuvenating our economy…yeah…:-s

    @My World Thank you! Can’t take credit for the design, but I think it suits me:-)

    @RocNaija and you too!

  7. StandTall-The Activist permalink
    April 14, 2009 3:20 pm

    Lem me check out the links and I hope I will get the film to buy in Nigeria and watch

  8. Shubby Doo permalink
    April 17, 2009 8:43 pm

    hope u had a good easter break. hope u partied hard…i’m supposed to go to nigeria and see him but didnt…i am supposed to be in london with ‘him’ tonight to celebrate a friend bday but honestly i can’t be bothered to drive down. if i cant cath up with him tomorrow that it will have to be when he next flies into london. abeg man no die man no rotten jare.

    thanks for the head up on the movie…love the fact that i learn new things when i come here

    i too hope never to feel that kind of desperation re morroco

    how is the new mac book?

    hope u enjoy your holiday in may…i have 2 planned. my 3rd trip(at the end of next month) is for work sha

  9. LoloBloggs permalink
    April 18, 2009 9:45 am

    @StandTall Once I get the info on that movie I will def pass on. Maybe you could host a showing in Naija? 😉

    @ShubbyDoo I partied HARD! lol! Was actually mash up after last weekend and had a craaaazzy week! But it’s all good. ‘He’ hasn’t featured much…hmmm….

    P.S. read via your blog comments you’re going sky-diving?! NUTTER!

  10. Shubby Doo permalink
    April 18, 2009 9:56 am

    lol…yeah that’s me. i went on my brithday last year in november in las vegas. loved it so much that my cousin and i want to do it again but in upstate jersey this time. it’s all good…i Hope!!!

  11. RocNaija permalink
    April 19, 2009 3:11 am

    Did you get the mac then?

    Luvin’ it? Need some inspiration.. thinking of getting one as well..

  12. LoloBloggs permalink
    April 19, 2009 9:03 am

    @Shubby Doo Better you than me, I guess its better to jump out of a plane with a parachute than forever wonder what it might be like to fly!

    @Roc *swoon* I’ve got it, I’m loving it…..can’t stop touching it! Old laptop has been ruthlessly dumped. My advice is buy buy buy!

  13. Swanny permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:38 am

    I would love you to contribute to GnG! You should drop me a mail sometime> We'll be kicking things off in a big way soon and I have just found someone to be assistant editor and keep it ticking over while I concentrate on incorporating some youth projects 🙂

    leila at girlsngadgets dot com

  14. August 20, 2014 11:25 pm

    For the reason that the admin of this website is working, no doubt very
    shortly it will be renowned, due to its quality contents.

Leave a Reply

