Skip to content

Brain Dump: Larndan Boys, TAFLON, Living with a ‘fro and UXCampLondon

May 31, 2009

I overheard a conversation between two young-ish boys in South London which made me laugh, here is what I remember (note, no mispellings, if it looks odd, say the word out loud to get the sound!)

Boy 1: Nah man, I belled her yea, and I was like, re-a te te, caa at the end of the day, tings is gwanning innit…so bwoy, ‘ave to just flex
Boy 2: True say, it’s not even like, man can go thru or nuttin, just ‘ave to be like, blood, it ain’t beefing.
Boy 1: Exactly. She was like, aw, nargh, it’s bla bla bla, and I was like what?! and she was like, nargh, it ain’t even like that
Boy 2: Bruv, thats wot am saying tho, them tings dere is just boopsing…..

And I got off the bus. In case you didn’t know, black people in the UK have got their own version of ebonics….and this is what it looks like on paper! lol! My feeble attempt at deciphering is below.

Boy 1: No man, I called her and I told her what’s up. Because at the end of the day, things are going on and you just have to do what you have to do.
Boy 2: Exactly, It’s not like you can just do what you want, you have to say, you know what? I don’t have a problem.
Boy 1: Exactly. She said it’s not that, tried to explain, but I still didn’t get it and she said it isn’t like that.
Boy 2: Brother, that’s what I’m saying, that kind of thing is a scam in which she attempts to get things out of men (the term ‘boopsing’).

Doesn’t sound quite as fancy in plain English!

I accidentally ended up at the launch of the fantastic Taste of Africa London (TAFLON) event on Friday. Pretty inspirational stuff, off the top of my head the event was run by Songhai Creative, and had a wealth of speakers who were all up and running African social enterprises in London. One of the keynotes was Cyril Nri who used to be Adam Okaro in The Bill. I was really impressed, especially because I ended up there by accident. Serendipity you say?

I’ve had a few interesting reactions to my afro this week, it’s getting bigger and bigger. One guy on the bus asked me if I worked in fashion, when I told him what I actually did, he looked a bit dissapointed. A lady on the street asked where I got my wig from. A friends relative asked what I was planning on doing with my hair…clearly because it must be in transition. And finally, I asked a good friend why she wouldn’t let her beautiful natural hair out from under weaves and extensions, her reaction “no way, its just not neat…….but…er…it looks good on you though!”

I’m getting good hair inspiration from the LeCoil tumblr blog where I grabbed the pic above from.

So, fellow geeks, website is up for UXCampLondon! It’s going to be held at Gumtree’s offices in Richmond which is two minutes away from the river (tis very gorgeous!). Tickets are limited, so follow @UXCampLondon on twitter or subscribe to the rss on the site so you know when to sign up.

Have a good week folks!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. akaBagucci permalink
    May 31, 2009 5:22 pm

    Likig your two in one posts….. one ‘technicsal’one ‘personal’

    If the hair works for you.. so be it…….

  2. wealthyandhealthy permalink
    June 2, 2009 12:27 am

    LMAO@ the convo… I would say it's not even a black thing anymore. It's definitely a London thing as I hear people of all races talk like that.

    I cannot stand it.

    It's one thing to have your slang when you are out with your friends, but some of these youths talk like that to everyone.

    Cha!

  3. SOLOMONSYDELLE permalink
    June 2, 2009 3:11 pm

    go on with your Afro self! =)

    My friend just asked me if I would consider going natural. I had to think long and hard about it. My daughter is natural and I intend on keeping it that way for as long as possible. I started a ‘hair journey’ last year in the quest to learn exactly how to not only care for my hair but grow it. Can I say the person that has benefitted the most has been my daughter, lol! Her hair is soft and growing. I don’t put any heat in it, but when you pull it out, its all the way past her armpits. I’m so jealous but very proud of myself, lol!

    Anyway, I tried to understand that convo twn the boys, but gave up. Its hard as it is listening to some young folks speak, so reading their speech is even harder for me. =)

    Hope all is well and thanks so much for stopping by my Nigerian Curiosity blog and always adding to the conversation with your insight. Much appreciated.

  4. LoloBloggs permalink
    June 2, 2009 3:36 pm

    @Bagucci My hair works for me!

    @Wealthyandhealthy London-lingo really gets me these days, I’m really starting to feel very old about it all! And its true, they don’t know when to switch it off!

    @SolomonSydelle Welcome to my blog! Please keep your daughter natural, I was having relaxers from the age of 7 and I’m sure its gonna take a while to get all those chemicals out of my head! And just imagine, if that is how nice her hair is, and 50% of that comes from you? Then me thinks you have to let the nappy out too!

    Thanks for coming by all!

  5. Lita permalink
    June 2, 2009 6:31 pm

    i love the naija response to my hair. with a lot of women (i mostly get this from young women brought up in Nigeria) its one of puzzlement, as if they’d never thought of wearing an afro before. i still can’t quite believe how using caustic chemicals became the norm…

  6. RocNaija permalink
    June 5, 2009 9:43 am

    Okay.. So I've been to UXCampLondon.. the website.. But I still don't get it..
    Am I just annoyingly slow or am I missing something??

    Break it down for a bruv willya, blood!! 😀

    I'll be back to read your response!

  7. LoloBloggs permalink
    June 5, 2009 9:55 am

    @Lita Nigerians really are so far removed from their natural states. The idea that chemical or fake is better than what God gave you is so ingrained…at least we have the strength and conviction to not be bothered by the comments!

    @Roc lol! I realised I gave no explanation! UXCamp is a BarCamp for the user experience field. It's way to long and convoluted to explain here, but UXCamp is aimed at people who are working in that field, or working in web/product development who want to know more about improving usability….so, you coming? 😉

  8. RocNaija permalink
    June 5, 2009 4:59 pm

    Interesting..

    So we're talking 'GUI' here and nothing backend like 'css' or 'cms'.. Right?

    Or is it much more convul.. what's that word you used again?

  9. LoloBloggs permalink
    June 5, 2009 7:41 pm

    @Roc nope it includes back-end too. The GUI is based on choices made in CSS and CMS development and even further back, we look at product proposition, who the users are, what the company culture dictates etc…basically, yes, it gets convoluted!

  10. RocNaija permalink
    June 5, 2009 9:59 pm

    Okey dokey.. Thanks for the heads up!
    Roc appreciates..

  11. Shubby Doo permalink
    June 11, 2009 12:50 pm

    lolobloggs – how did you managed to decode that?!!!

Leave a Reply

