Skip to content

The Verdict on the Nigerian Beauty Debate

June 13, 2009
tags: ,

I’d like to thank everyone who read and agreed/disagreed with my last post. It was the first time I felt heated enough about something I read on the web enough to rebut it on my own blog and I’m quite surprised at the backlash that both the author of the blog post in question (Nigerian Women vs African American Women) and I have had.

I’m no killjoy (as you should know if you read my blog regularly) and I really don’t take myself too seriously, but this article took the biscuit and I called it out. I must say it’s good to know many of you agree with me, it would have been extremely lonely on pariah hill otherwise!

Personally, I’m still going to visit Jaguda.com. I generally like their content and I find most of their posts amusing. I doubt they’re saying the same about me, but what the heck…I have thick skin and a big mouth. That’s not going to change any time soon!

I’d like to thank the Jaguda Team for taking the time out to provide me with an official response in the comments section of my last post. Their comment is below, but first I will answer their two points:

1. I didn’t say these issues are not discussed in daily life nor that the author made up what she thinks out of thin air. I’m simply saying that I always disagree with the sentiment behind such discussions. And to be honest, no amount of “people are always talking about this” is going to change my p.o.v on that.

2. On the second point, dissecting exactly what was the problematic statement is pointless. The whole of the post was flawed in my opinion. Note that I also said “my opinion”; the author gave hers and I gave mine, all’s fair in love and blogville.

So, here is their response:

Ok. I have read this post, and the comments and I would like to say that I personally don’t like the way this has been skewed to look like a “African American is better than African” issue. It is definitely not that.

The 2 things I’ve noticed have been mentioned the most as problems (both here and on the original post) are : 1. There shouldn’t be a comparison in the first place, and 2. The writer is saying African American women are BETTER than Nigerian women. I’d like to defend both.

1. Let’s be real. This is not the first time anyone has done a comparison between AA & African women or men for that matter. Comparisons happens all the time. Igbo men vs Yoruba men. Hausa girls vs Efik girls. White guys vs Hispanic guys. It happens all the time. This is nothing new in my opinion, and so I’m a little bit confused as to why the article has been labeled as a waste of space, or waste of energy when this comparison comes up a lot of times within friends, on blogs, and in magazines. I know I’ve been in plenty of comparison conversations. Maybe it’s just me.

2. Let’s not get what the author of this post is saying twisted. She did not say African Women are BETTER than Nigerian women, and if u read the disclaimer she did say “…in every race or ethnicity, there are beautiful and ugly ones. So when I write my opinion about what I believe it is in terms of generalization.” This is HER opinion. You don’t have to agree with her, but please respect her opinion. The second point (within the second point) is there are other criteria in this post. I would think that the more intelligent point giving to Nigerian women is far better than beauty. Physical Beauty fades but your intelligence wont. She also did not say Nigerian women are ugly. Not one mention of it. It could very well be that AA women are 95% and Nigerian women are 90% on a PHYSICAL beauty scale. Or was it her use of the word “exotic” (which is very vague)? If that one word caused all this drama then there is something very wrong somewhere. There was no mention of long hair, light skinned, straight hair. Nothing like that. It seems like a lot of us took something the writer said and ran 6 miles with it.

I’ve heard countless stereotypical comments about Nigerian men being wife beaters, or wanting their wives to be slaves, or not having as much “swaga” as African American men… and this is from Nigerian women. Does that make me feel that I’m not as good as an African American? No it doesn’t. Does it mean whoever said such a comment has self-esteem issues? No. It’s their opinion, and I respect it.

It’s only normal to think your culture is the best in everything, and Nigerians being Nigerians (myself included) feel like we are the best in everything, and anyone that says different doesn’t know what they are talking about. It’s pride in our culture, and I fully understand that, but it doesn’t mean it’s grounds to crucify someone that stated their opinion about 1 thing that doesn’t fall in our way.

So with that being said, I’d like to say that the intent of this post on Jaguda.com was NOT to belittle Nigerian women, or make them look/feel inferior, and if anyone took that from the post we apologize. For those that come to the site and read regularly, including but not limited to LoloBlogs, Original Mbgeke, & Vera, on behalf of the Jaguda Team I’d like to say thank you for your support, and hope u continue visiting. For those that had never been to the site prior to this post, we want you to know that the site is much more than this one post, and we hope we didn’t chase you away. Thank You.

Jaguda Team

9 Comments leave one →
  1. RocNaija permalink
    June 14, 2009 3:39 am

    Dang.. Sounds like someone got schooled..

    Good on ya, Miss B!

  2. akaBagucci permalink
    June 14, 2009 5:03 am

    nice that they tot it fit to respond….. will still go there.. if only for the radio!

  3. chayoma permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:19 pm

    this one na prof in the making oh!
    as for Nigerians feeling like ish,we are the ISH!
    lwkm…

  4. LoloBloggs permalink
    June 15, 2009 9:08 pm

    @Roc Thank you jare…if you need someone to get blasted, I'm your gal! 🙂

    @Bagucci I agree, the radio is probably the best part actually!

    @Chayoma I expect nothing less from Naija's finest! lol! Thanks for coming by!

  5. joicee permalink
    June 16, 2009 6:28 pm

    lol I just read the article …It is good thing that jaguda people came to clear things up

    Good on them!

  6. The Bookaholic permalink
    June 17, 2009 11:52 am

    Very interesting post…just stumbled on your blog!

  7. RocNaija permalink
    June 17, 2009 6:28 pm

    All guns blazing.. 😀
    Been meaning to ask.. Were you a chic before you became a geek?
    Or is it the other way round?

  8. LoloBloggs permalink
    June 19, 2009 1:35 am

    @Joicee Can't fault them for responding.

    @The Bookaholic thank you for coming by!

    @RocNaija which kin' question?!! The chic part is the default!

  9. ms_teacher permalink
    December 10, 2009 10:13 am

    some ppl take things way to seriously. like homegirl said, it was just someone’s OPINION! we’re not always going to agree with what one person or the other says. laugh it off, frown ur face, and then get over it.

Leave a Reply

