Skip to content

Are you feedly-ing me?

July 26, 2009

DannyB brought it to my attention that my habit of not posting for ages then doing two posts at a time might mean that some of you are missing some of my topics. If you find me via blogrolls then it’s only going to show you my most recent post.

I’m also guessing some of you will not be using RSS feed readers like Google Reader or NetVibes either. Well I’d like to recommend you think about it.

I’ve been using Google Reader for a while now and subscribe to about 100+ blogs and website feeds. It gets just a tad overwhelming. In two days I can build up about 150+ unread posts, mainly because some of the sites I follow update at a ridiculous pace. But the good thing is I never miss a post unless I decide not to read it.

About 1 month ago I discovered Feedly. It’s sort of like NetVibes but much more LoloBloggs friendly! It imports all your feeds from Google Reader and gives you a magazine style layout showing you all the picture posts, video posts as well as previews of all your unread posts (rather than just the title which Google Reader does) and synchronises with your twitter as well.

The downside is that it’s a FireFox plugin so for now that’s the only place you can use it. The upside of it being a FireFox plugin is that it ‘follows’ you across tabs and the web. If you google a topic or go to a new website, and somebody has mentioned it in a post or a tweet then your feedly-mini at the bottom of the browser lets you know.

Last week I Googled Maxwell and was immediately pointed to this fab write-up of his album on the Soulculture website. So even if you get a large build up of unread posts, Feedly lets you see when there is a gem in there that you might want to read first.

It doesn’t ‘follow’ you around sites that are security enabled (like paying for things or online banking) but just to be on the safe side I’d open those kinds of things in a different browser.

So anyhoo, less of my going on and more of my lecturing. To make the most of your blog following experience sign up for a feed reader. Google Reader, NetVibes are the best online clients and Feedly (my new best friend) is a fab browser plugin. Any other cool products out there that you guys are using? There can never be too many!

I won’t be doing two posts today, decided I might go to the park and pretend grey and overcast doesn’t mean rain but fabulous summer! :-s

7 Comments leave one →
  1. RocNaija permalink
    July 26, 2009 4:33 pm

    Interesting read..
    I'll be checking 'Feedly' out..
    Firefox just seems to have so many plug-ins, that it does my head in..

    Hold on a sec.. Does that mean I'll have to add each blog into 'Feedly' all over?
    Or is there a way to port everything across seamlessly?
    Hmmm… long tin..

    I've been feenin for pretty wings since first listen..
    But his BET performance was a bit cheesy..
    Looking forward to his album..

    Enjoy the weather..

  2. akaBagucci permalink
    July 26, 2009 7:10 pm

    I've had the feedly thing but deactivated it.. Tot it was kinda in my face all the time as opposed to having to physically sign into Google Reader…..Will give it another look see..

  3. LoloBloggs permalink
    July 28, 2009 10:39 am

    @Roc Firefox is the king of the plugin! lol! No need to manually import all your feeds, Feedly gets them direct from Google Reader. But it then lets you categorise them which is the fun part!

    @Bagucci did you set it as your homepage? I just go to it when I need a brain break and I get a pretty screen looking at me! 🙂

  4. Ore permalink
    July 28, 2009 10:45 am

    I haven't tried any of these RSS readers. I use Bloglines, which I really like.

  5. Original Mgbeke permalink
    July 30, 2009 8:08 pm

    I subscribe to blogs in google reader but I hardly ever use it. I should get on it, erryone swears by it.
    Feedly sounds nice, but I use google chrome so I guess it's a no go.

  6. Original Mgbeke permalink
    August 3, 2009 6:06 pm

    Whoop whoop! You know LEOS run things. Happy belated birthday chica. 🙂

  7. Milan permalink
    August 5, 2009 8:06 am

    hey, fresh blog check out mine as well> Dem YoungEntertainment> http://aka-alter.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

