Skip to content

Who moved my cheese?

October 8, 2009

I tell you some sneaky little so and so keeps moving my stash of beautiful deluxe cheese and I am getting waaaay tired of waiting for that individual to bring it back! In fact, on principle, I’m not moving until it is returned to me right here on this very spot where I stand right now and will stand until the cheese is brought back. Hmph. My cheese dammit.

….and exhale.

Who Moved my Cheese, Spencer Johnson M.D.

who-moved-my-cheeseI was loaned this book very briefly by a friend of mine at the weekend. He said it would take 30 minutes to read and I read it in 15. Its so ridiculously simple that you read it and then it creeps up on you cos you’re not really sure why you’re supposed to think its so wonderful. Well I’m not going to tell you. Go and borrow or buy it. It’s worth the couple of quid, plus I’d say you might want your own copy just to give the gift of wisdom to a friend or passing colleague, just as my friend did to me.

While we are on books, I received The Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Taleb as a birthday gift. It came highly regarded, but I was finding the concept a bit tough (I was also given it as an audio book). When I went away, I took it with me to try and get my teeth into it and figure it out a bit more, and would you believe it, I left it on a plane. I was quite upset at the time, there was a very nice inscription in it and it felt all the more tragic because it was a gift and you’re supposed to look after those! But I still have the audio book, so I tried doubly hard to feel the concept and yet still no joy. Maybe, the book had to go to someone who would understand it and need it, so I’ve just helped the universe pass it forward. A serendipitous find has managed to present itself to one fortunate person who needed it!

It’s all change on the LoloBloggs front! Life as I know it at the moment is a huge ball rolling down a hill, getting bigger with everything it sees and picking up speed! Where it ends up who knows, but for now, I’m relaxing, I get a bit dizzy at times, but I’m trying to get my footing, make my way to the top of the ball, learning first to balance and secondly to steer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 10:16 pm

    You read it in 15?!
    Wow.. Talk about speed reading.

  2. Akinola Iwayemi permalink
    October 12, 2009 9:05 pm

    I love the book i ended up getting more and giving them away. .

    As intellectual as we beings are, we just seem to get less things accomplished and create more confusion to what could be really simply.

    A mouse can u imagine.

  3. Kassy permalink
    April 25, 2010 3:18 am

    Where’d you get the mouse and cheese? or where’d you find it? It’s cute!

Leave a Reply

