Skip to content

Black Girl Long Hair and Me

October 29, 2009

So folks today has been a very big day for me. I did something I’m very proud of this evening, but unfortunately I can’t talk about it yet. It’s one of those things that I’ve been fortunate enough (serendipity you say?) to encounter that I’m sure will only be for the best! I won’t do an Inspector Clouseau here…it was good but I can’t tell you what it was. Simples.

But, in other news, welcome to any visitors from Black Girl Long Hair! After almost a year of following the site, checking out the hair journeys, advice and styles of black women around the world I was inspired to send in photos of me. Yep, me. I did it, I put photos of myself on a public platform for all to see. I had many a conversation with friends about going natural, and the last year and a bit of being natural has been a whirlwind for me, so I decided to share my story, and, as the website dictates, I had to share some photos too.

I’m feeling extremely humbled by all the nice things people have said in the comments, makes me feel a lil bit speshal and wot not innit…. 🙂 (giggles in a silly fashion and kicks imaginary dust on the floor)

If this is your first time on my blog, please do stay and have a look around, I like having guests!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sosoblogs permalink
    October 29, 2009 5:25 pm

    Just saw you on BGWLH so loving that dress and your hair of course. I have just done the opposite to you hair-wise I’ve gone from natural to relaxed!! I love your blog here so will be following!!

  2. Shubby doo permalink
    November 1, 2009 12:29 pm

    U look so cute and u are totally working the natural look. May serendipity always find u 🙂

  3. November 3, 2009 8:33 pm

    u look really nice rocking that natural do…

    lol @ “half a pony tail”…

  4. November 6, 2009 8:16 am

    Love your site! I’ll definitely be reading your postings. I just started my own blog site on my trials and tribulations with black hair. Check it out http://dsmrtgrl.wordpress.com/.

  5. lolobloggs permalink*
    November 8, 2009 8:22 pm

    @sosoblogs Lets try and wean you back to the natural crew! You’re gonna miss your fro..!

    @shubbydoo Amen!

    @justdoyin Thank you! And you know you’ve seen the pony tail look in action! lol!

    @dsmrtgrl Thanks for stopping by, I’ll make sure to have a look at your site.

  6. Lnzoma permalink
    November 17, 2009 5:28 pm

    Love your blog. You are very inspiring and funny. Keep up the good work with your hair. I think you make a great point about the hair issue not only with W. Africans but Black women in general. Have you had the opportunity to check out “Good Hair?” It is a documentary by commedianne Chris Rock, it’s in theatres here in the States. I haven’t seen it yet but keep hearing lots about it. Stay fly!!

  7. November 18, 2009 9:40 am

    You, lady, look awesome.

    Rock on.

  8. lucidlilith permalink
    February 24, 2010 6:48 pm

    I know this is an old post but…i cant wait for my mini fro to look like yours!

  9. March 14, 2010 6:20 pm

    So last week I posted on my own blog about me having natural hair and then someone commented on your post so I had to come here and check you out.

    Your hair and photos were stunning!!

    Angel

    oh and here is my post…
    http://atasteofangelcake.blogspot.com/2010/03/ive-gone-all-natural.html

  10. October 31, 2010 2:09 pm

    just the mere look of Chris Rock would give you laughs already ‘

  11. November 24, 2010 7:53 pm

    oh well, chris rock is damn funny. i like his corny jokes and stuffs `-“

  12. September 20, 2014 1:49 pm

    After goiong over a handful of the articles on your weeb page,
    I truly like your technique of blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will
    be checking back soon. Please check out my website too and tell me how yyou feel.

Leave a Reply

