Skip to content

Making geekery cool

November 20, 2009

I’ve been talking to a few people recently about this blog and my habit of referring to myself as a geek and I’m surprised with how many people think it’s a bit odd. I’ve been told I don’t look or seem like a geek, but I do wear glasses, I retain absolutely random facts for no good reason, I have an aspergers spectrum ability to turn the most interesting topic into a conversation resembling Mrs Patel’s year 9 science class and I spend up to 80% of my day in front of a computer….anyone else think I’m not a geek?!

The point is to re-dress the idea that being a geek is a bad thing, an uncool thing that you’re supposed to shy away from. That’s the mentality that gets kids bullied, that makes a young person not want to achieve lest they be tagged as that person who knows it all. My POV is sod that. I embrace the lot of it. I will happily talk about subjects that other people find boring because as long as I find it interesting that’s what counts. The fact that if I try and start talking about that subject to someone else, their eyes start glazing over and you see them drift towards an alternate reliality….well…whatever…their loss!

A few subjects I’m proudly geeky about:

  • User Experience (I’m hoping this particular passion will keep me clothed and fed too)
  • Soshal Meedja (I’m close to deleting my Facebook account, but gotta love my Twitter, LinkedIn, Ning groups, Meetup…yeah…a few others..ahem)
  • Nigerians, where they get to and why they are everywhere (not forgetting the problem with them)
  • Gadgets, technology and fast cars (well what I pick up on Top Gear anyway)
  • Paulo Coelho books (plus his facebook and his twitter feed!)
  • Books, books, books (including the ones other people don’t read and just watch the film like Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings trilogy which I first read when I was 15)
  • Star Trek (pretty much all of it; Star Trek (Original), The Next Generation, Voyager, Deep Space Nine, Enterprise and 8 out of the 11 films sad, but true)
  • Black history (I’m working on being able to talk 12 hours non stop!)
  • Major conspiracy theories  (Although he’s bonkers, that David Icke’s been doing a lot of thinking that makes some sense!)

I could go on, the more I think about it, the more random it gets and the less chance we have of this list ending.

The point of this post is to make us all realise that geekery is actually quite common. There must be something that each of us are obsessive and overly knowledgeable about, let yourselves be free and proclaim it to the world!

Speaking of which, a bunch of very cool people who I have mentioned before live over on the Black Nerds Network. Me thinks the cool kids got a hold of this one, but alas, I love the theme, I bought the t-shirt and I wear it with pride. As a proud geek, I shall stand tall as part of the Black Nerds Network.

(N.B. for those of you who are pedantic, I don’t make any distinction between a geek and a nerd. Tomatoe : tomato)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. soul permalink
    November 20, 2009 5:50 am

    There’s just something about deep space nine which isn’t quite right. you’d think with a black captain and all Iit’d be all gung ho about. but hmm it just didn’t do he just didn’t do it for me.

    P.S. I collect old African maps. You’d be amazed at what was what before the colonials decided to completely reduce things to tiny lil squares.

    I do differentiate between a nerd and a geek though and the terms have indeed shifted and the meanings slightly changed
    Geek is now more acceptable. i.e. you can be a geek about any particular subject matter. ie intensively involved in it.
    especially gadgetry.
    Nerd however is the taking that interest not only to the extreme but compound the issues by being completely socially inaccessible to others. (ala tin foil hat)

    These are simply my distinctions though. might not work for e’rybody
    , I think you can be hot for something, u know like a subject matter

  2. November 20, 2009 7:15 am

    Quite an eclectic mix, if I say so…… Geek vs. nerd? I think it’s a question of semantics too….though I have to agree with soul that Geek seems to have a veneer of acceptability which nerd doesn’t often get…

    You do have a way of making your abstruse interests – like UX- seem interesting, with the blend of cognitive psychology and all the other innards! so maybe in a way, that’s cool….

  3. November 20, 2009 6:59 pm

    it depends on how people perceive u and how you see yourself…a geek does not have to equate to a negative… having watched many episode of beauty and the geek, i think geeks are cool…besides you don’t seem overly obsessed with one or more things compared to the rest of us…and you are not so odd as to be completely lacking any form of social skills…without the ability to hold a TWO WAY conversation

    I don’t think I’m a geek…i wear glasses – on weekends (contacts on weekdays)…i love science – physics programmes on the big bang theory and string theory yank my chain even though I don’t understand it all

    i love top gear – plus formula 1 is my absolute passion (even managed to get to monza this year)…i follow fashion (my collection of dresses, shoes & bags are starting to grow at an alarming rate)… love art – always make sure I go to a museum/ or gallery every time i travel

    sci fi wise I’m a freak – i wouldn’t let my brother get hold of my ‘V’ boxset – loved the show as a kid (Diana antics were second to none), cant wait to buy sarah connor chronicles boxset…love star wars (only episode 4 – 6)…but in my heart i’m a trekkie – not deep space nine though – love voyager a lot…currently watch it without fail at 7pm every weekday on virgin 1

    social networking wise i only have facebook (two – one real and one for shubby doo which is kind of a pain) and blogger and that is cool for me…paulo cohelo fb fan page is a must for me too o! but social networking sites don’t take the place of meeting up with good friends for real… I’m crap at that but I do try my best about it cos no man is an island

    wish i could retain facts like you though…but already at my age my memory is shot!!!

  4. November 20, 2009 7:00 pm

    ps.
    on the subject of books…may I recommend to all a delightful book called ‘the book thief’… simply fab

  5. UzoA permalink
    November 21, 2009 7:16 am

    I don’t really think of myself as a geek or a nerd but I do believe my Father is right when he tells me that my real home is the library. New information, no matter how random, is always very interesting and important.

    You are on Twitter? Going to look for you now.

  6. November 22, 2009 7:31 pm

    i am also a geek and proud to be 🙂

  7. November 23, 2009 4:58 pm

    Nerd to me has a negative connotation, but I think my list of geeky stuff I do (or interested about is 3 times longer.) I have found that as long as you don’t have the hygiene or grooming problem some geeks have, people have a hard time believing you are truly a geek.

  8. lolobloggs permalink*
    November 23, 2009 11:33 pm

    @Soul I have to say DS9 was never my favourite, put me on Voyager everytime. Captain Janeway had balls! I would love to see old African maps before ‘the scramble’. Please share!

    @DannyB yey! I make geek sound interesting…now just go tell all my other friends about it, they’re not convinced! lol!

    @ShubbyDoo I love how you proclaim you’re not a geek, and then talk yourself right into being one! V???! I can barely remember that…but apparently it’s making a comeback! Thanks for the book, I’ll check it out.

    @UzoA Libraries rock, random information is like xmas to me!

    @logtar I would love to re-dress the nerd-negativity thing. Yes there are some social skills lacking within some absurdly clever people, but I think most of us are geeky/nerdy about something so we’re all masquerading.

    Thanks for stopping by everyone!

  9. November 25, 2009 3:55 pm

    waoh! u do make geekery sound cool indeed…I like ur passion though…I also loved and agree with this statement;

    “The point is to re-dress the idea that being a geek is a bad thing, an uncool thing that you’re supposed to shy away from. That’s the mentality that gets kids bullied, that makes a young person not want to achieve lest they be tagged as that person who knows it all”…

  10. dawnsvenus permalink
    November 26, 2009 4:28 pm

    Wow!
    Make me proud to be black-girl-geeky, your geeky subjects are pretty much mine as well. I love space & tech (did physics as a degree), and as I get older I notice more people addressing my geekness, but they are a little late, as the part of me that would have cared is longgg gone. Labels shouldn’t matter, I know im not begging anyone to hang around me while I watch trek, read comics, or talk pan-Africanism/sci-fi (…but you know they wanna anyways ^_^…deep down),
    I love all Trek, but yea, DS9 is like the soap opera Trek, compared to the others.
    (ps. they have 24/7 streaming of TNG, Ds9, and sometimes Voyager over on jtv.com)
    I wasn’t aware of BNN, but i’m definitely going to check it out, thx

Leave a Reply

