Skip to content

Resistance, Muses and Supporting creativity

February 6, 2010

There is a book a friend gave me for my birthday last year, it’s called The War of Art by Steven Pressfield (not to be confused with the Sun Tzu’s Art of War). It’s one of those books you either love or not, but you won’t hate it and you will identify with it. If you also happen to be lacking some inspiration and support for following your own path and not fitting in a box, hopefully it will give you a bit of ammunition to combat resistance both outside and within.

There are several books which discuss the idea of resistance. This mysterious force that we all suffer from at the time when we need it least. My weakest moments; whenever I was studying for any exam, the hardest thing I found to do was pick up a book. Whenever I need to put together a large comprehensive document or presentation (as I often do at work) it can take me hours upon hours to start. When I want to go for a run on a cold day, its a 50/50 chance I’ll actually do it. When I need to move from the sofa and go to the toilet even though I’m bursting….list goes on and on and on and on. All of these are types of resistance. The most dangerous example is the kind that pops up right when you are doing the very thing that is good for you emotionally, physically, financially or spiritually. You are guaranteed to face some kind of personal resistance right when the future is presenting itself at your door.

For me, this book wasn’t about self help and it’s not even about believing in some mantra or doctrine purported by someone else. It felt like me, talking to me about me, and telling myself the things I already know I know. It’s scary, but it gave me perspective. Its worth reading this book at least once.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 1:29 pm

    thanks for the recommendation and your thoughts on it. i’ll look out for it

  2. February 7, 2010 9:01 pm

    hmm…haven’t heard of this one. Thanks for the headsup. Happy new year btw.

  3. March 24, 2010 2:02 pm

    yeah sometimes resistance comes right at you just when you are about to hit the mark of success. the book sounds like a good read.

  4. March 26, 2010 4:18 am

    The War of Art is an amazing book. I hope your review gets some people reading it and learn to get over the hump in beating resistance. We need more people moving forward and doing good work!

  5. Maame permalink
    March 28, 2010 5:39 am

    OMG! I feel so inspired with your blog. I stumbled upon you on blgh and was wondering how I could get intouch. I can extremely relate to some of the cool stuff on here since I am Ghanaian/ African. Would love to talk to you more.

Leave a Reply

