Skip to content

When the posts just aren’t flowing

July 11, 2010

Imagine my surprise when I realised I have not written a post in over 3 months….3 MONTHS!!! What on earth have I been doing? I genuinely hadn’t realised that much time had passed. Yuk.

And there I was wondering why I was walking around with so many pent up emotions! So to compensate, here is a run-down of what I have been doing/reading since my last blog post.

In May I wandered off to Lisbon for a 3 day geek conference and a long weekend. Do I love Lisbon? Hell yeah. I had some time to practise my portuguese skills and learnt a very very valuable lesson.

Ladies, if you ever go to Lisbon, DO NOT pack anything that has skinny heels. No matter how high or low, skinny heels are a no no. It seems 5 x 5cm paving stones with rather large gaps are the trend….nearly ruined a damn fine pair of shoes…deym.

Never one to skimp on my frequent flyer status, I also spent a long weekend in Berlin having co-organised another geek conference. Another city I realise I have much love for, totally different to other parts of Germany I’ve been to. Also quite amazed that I spotted a Ghanaian restaurant while there…go figure.

What was I reading in May? Well, all about the disastrous, utterly unbelievable 1millionshirts debacle. In a nutshell, marketing man does one good deed and sends t-shirts to a small charity in Uganda. Decides, he has been called for a greater cause and sets up a charity to ship 1 million of the wonderful, clearly much needed clothing item to Africa. Gets jumped on by every pro-aid/ anti-aid/ got me an opionion on aid/ commented on aid blog once or twice/member of the WTF blog council blogger and finds himself anti-person of the month.

Twas all heading towards resolution, till he found himself somehow seeming to advocate child trafficking. You can see how it started here from Project Diaspora (be sure to read the comments). Their downward slope towards child trafficking unfortunately has been removed from the www (imagine, you can delete wesbites!), but you can read the best response to it (IMHO) here from Michael Keizer.

June was a bit quieter on the travel front, in fact June was a great month for “How-to-be-buried-under-work-and-have-no-time-for-simple-things-like-eating”. Yep, June was officially one of the busiest months I’ve had in a long time. One of those where you wake up to go into the office at 5am and think to yourself, when did I go from earning a salary to being the primary shareholder? Oh, I haven’t?

A girl is allowed to have a crush darnit.

And so onto July, ah July. World cup hasn’t done me much good. Nigeria….well….lets not talk about it. Then I got Germany in the office sweepstake…again…lets move on. And to top it off, my World Cup Foosball team? Brazil. So anyhoo, based on my 3 years living there, I’m claiming my (begging it) Spanish roots and celebrating like its 1999. *We* were always gonna win it. That Puyol guy is one heck of a mascot eh!

I learned two things this World Cup, it is possible to have psychotic episodes involving vuvuzelas and the backsides of television commentators. Second, I disvovered that if I ever divorced Nelson Evora, it would be because of the small but perfectly formed Robinho. Nuff said.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 11:18 am

    lol…u really have been quite busy…a very full 3 months it’s been for u…good to have u back.

    • lolobloggs permalink*
      July 12, 2010 8:17 pm

      Hey Doyin, thanks! So good to know people still follow me despite my missing status! Hope you’re well, popping over to visit your blog now.

  2. July 13, 2010 8:49 pm

    Glad to read from you again. I hope I can borrow your miles someday.

    • July 22, 2010 10:02 pm

      Hey Myne, you can borrow my miles anytime if I can borrow your literary talent! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. July 15, 2010 5:13 am

    World travelling Geek, Yes? Noice stuff!

Leave a Reply

