Skip to content

Act like a lady, think like a man….er…date your dad?!

July 16, 2010

So I decided to buy Steve Harvey’s attempt at telling us gals just why we are still single, lonley and picking wotless* men. Why not? Shucks, somebody somewhere has to be able to give me CLARITY on the inner workings of these 3-legged beings we seek out for our life partners.

I’ve read the first part of this book, entitled “The Mindset of a Man“. My conclusion is that far too much of this makes sense to me. I’ll elaborate, according to Steve, men say what they mean, they want to spend money on you and they want more than anything to be alpha male supreme. Now, whilst that makes sense, I KNOW that this book was written for women, therefore it HAS to play directly to women’s fears, not necessarily talk about what mean REALLY think!

I’m not worried about the simplicity of the argument, I get that men are in essence probably very simple. It’s more that according to Steve, all of you men want to be accomplished millionaires before you actually pay real attention to a woman and given that most of the populus won’t make it, one has to wonder about how ‘real’ this insight into a man’s mind is.

The only person I know who would advocate actually ask questions like “What are your long-term goals?” on a first date is my father. Makes me shiver just to think about it. If a man asked me that question even I’d have to be like dude…..I just met you!

Am I in denial? who knows, I have two more sections to get through “Why Men do what they do” and “The Playbook: How to win the game“. Maybe by the end of the book I’ll feel like an expert. Or maybe I’ll just feel like Steve Harvey’s men are not part of my future…go figure!

In the meantime, I’m in search of any man who has actually read this book and can comment on it. Please feel free to drop me a line!

As an aside, I’m sure Steve won’t be happy to learn someone else has a book on the same topic with the same title which has knicked the url! lol! The website actually makes me weep with how awful it is. Who knows, maybe this lady’s book came first! http://www.actlikealadythinklikeaman.com/

*wotless for my non-British readers is what we call a useless unrealiable person. I quite like the more descriptive waste-man myself. Ever one to be all about equality, both terms can also refer to a woman.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 5:39 pm

    Oh lord, that book is a waste of space. Sketchy advice from a man who has been divorced three times!

  2. Lonnie permalink
    July 22, 2010 5:39 pm

    I would never in my life want to think like a man. The book should be called Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Lady, that will get us girls by just fine.

  3. July 22, 2010 10:01 pm

    @One3Snapshot lol! I know he had a failed marriage behind him, but 3?! That’s deep!

    @Lonnie Amen to that. I am what I am and a woman I will forever be.

  4. August 6, 2010 6:13 am

    He’s been divorced 3 times? Ah, the issue of credibility rears its ugly head…

  5. MadHatter89 permalink
    September 14, 2010 8:23 pm

    The woman’s book of the same title was copyrighted in 2004, so hers was probably first. You know, I’ve always been skeptical of Steve Harvey’s “advice” to women on this topic. Then I saw this video: http://abcnews.go.com/Nightline/FaceOff/ which confirmed my skepticism. Is it just me, or does he try to state something that he thinks is a valid point until one of the women points out the fallacies of it, and then he turns everything that was said into a joke? He isn’t as bad as the other two, but he still does it. That one guy – whose name I don’t remember and am too uncaring to look up – who says that all black women want a thug etc. is absolutely ridiculous. He shouldn’t have even been asked to be on the panel. Yeah, anyway… yeah. I ramble on. 🙂

  6. lolobloggs permalink*
    September 19, 2010 3:26 pm

    @SolomonSydelle he’s just making a hole load of noise and hoping noone pays too much attention to him! lol!

    @MadHatter89 thanks for that link, twas hilarious! Car crash telly in full effect!

Trackbacks

  1. Bringing home the chicken « Afro Geek Chic

Leave a Reply

