Skip to content

Hello Negro!!

October 31, 2010

If you’re a regular reader of my blog you’ll know that I love travelling. Whether for work or pleasure, I make my passport work hard. My latest escapade on holiday took me to Malaysia. And what a beautiful place it is as well. In 3 weeks, I attended my friends wedding and managed a lot of indulgence. It was the much needed r&r that will always be worth the money and the 13-hour flight that took me there.

No matter how much I travel or how far out I seem to go, one thing I will never get used to however is being a ‘rare event’. Certain places I have been to have helped to remind me that seeing a black person is just not common everywhere.

On the island of Borneo there is a small-ish city called Kota Kinabalu (KK) which was my base for the majority of the trip. From day one, people would call out “Hello Negro!”, “Hey Negro!”, “eeeyy Waca Waca”….erm…waca waca? This was new to me, I didn’t really pay much attention to Shakira’s world cup contribution, so not only did I not have a clue what they were going on about, but since when was it ok to just turn that into some kind of ethnic identifier? Its just odd!

Now don’t get me wrong, I found Malaysians to be some of the most warm, inviting and sociable people ever. Much of the calling out was jolly and basically was just pointing out our novelty more than anything. Only on a couple of occasions did the actual ni***r word come out and even then it was completely ignorable. In some ways we really courted the attention, it was one thing that my mate spends time in the city with her now husband, but for her wedding, there was an influx of 10 more black people all hanging out together including mother of the bride resplendent in a 2ft high weave!

I can tell you I will be back there, no amount of name calling is going to keep me from coming back I can tell you that much. One of the most amazing things about the trip was being able to experience about 6 holidays in one! I had a full on city break, a paradise 5* resort, a jungle trip (erm…) and finally a budget desert island with no running electricity but the number one highlight of my trip. Ok, so that’s only 5, but still GO TO MALAYSIA!

So, about that jungle trip….in short, it lasted 6-hours, saw me complaining every step of the way and ended with me experiencing dehydration and having to charter a boat back to civilisation as I just couldn’t walk any further. Nuff said. I ain’t no jungle baby that’s for sure!

Pic below is of my spot on paradise. I got through many a book in that position. Loved it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2010 9:01 pm

    Still the world traveler I see…. Malaysia is definitely going to make it to my 40 things by 40 list then.. 🙂

    PS: Your ‘certain places i’ve been to’ url has an extra ‘http’ …

    • lolobloggs permalink*
      October 31, 2010 9:12 pm

      First to comment as always! Thanks for pointing out my link issue! Trust me Malaysia is 100% got to be there…. 🙂

  2. October 31, 2010 10:19 pm

    looks like u had a load of fun…should add Malaysia to my TO VISIT list then…thanks for sharing the experience.

  3. November 1, 2010 7:39 am

    O ye Traveler!

  4. November 1, 2010 10:20 am

    And the sole abiding phrase remains.. “When I grow up I want to be like you!!

    Mosquito bites much??

  5. lolobloggs permalink*
    November 9, 2010 10:47 pm

    @Anoda Phase – I would highly recommend it!

    @Aloofar – Longest time uncle!

    @Roc – Me thinks my eyes deceive me! I feel privileged you stopped by!

    As always, I feel blessed to have a readership, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

