Skip to content

Bringing home the chicken

May 2, 2011

I was going to call this post bringing home the bacon but as the subject is really not interested in and would not appreciate any references to the swine I figured I’d give it a twist to my favourite meat so there.

Now, on my last post, one of the commenters (thanks for the prod Chichi) noted that I have not followed up on my relationship status. I realised that whilst I whined and complained about the state of men and dating over and over again on this blog, I have not been so forthcoming since my status has changed. Ahem, yes, for those who may have missed it, my status has changed to ….. not single.

Unlike the many movies where two strangers meet at a party/bar/library/airplane/street/supermarket/hostage scenario (I tried all but the last…trust me), I met my guy….lets call him Alan, via a mutual friend. I am not surprised. Many of my relationship successes (I still consider my past relationships a success) have been via introductions because let’s face it, a random dude scares the living daylights out of me and it’s all about the pre-vetting. Mad folk need not apply.

Some vital stats you may be interested in, he’s a geek (woohoo!), 5’9, size 9 feet and ……… he’s not Nigerian. This is where you may want to take a short break and catch up on the time my parent’s tried to pimp me out.

At the risk of sounding mildly smug, I think my emotional growth over the years I’ve been writing on this blog has rewarded me with being right about the kind of person I need to be with and the way I approach my relationships.

I’ll sum it up in one major affirmation…..don’t play games. It’s pretty simple, but it works. I’ve read so many things about what women want, what men want, what women should know about what men want, how to make sure you don’t give him too much, tease this, play with that etc etc etc. On my bookshelf alone I’ve got, He’s just not that into you, It’s called a break-up because it’s broken, Act like a lady, think like a man and more nonsense than I care to admit.

Now don’t get me wrong, this is not my first serious relationship (but everyone please say a quick prayer that it could be my last…ahem…), but it’s the first time I have been strong enough, emotionally strong enough to not front about any little bit. I am who I am, I know exactly what I have to offer and I’m willing to uphold my side of the bargain; I’m woman enough to stand by the woman I am.

So when I look at….Alan, I’m pretty certain that he is seeing the best I have to offer. I’m pretty certain this mindset is mutual, and so far, this is relationship has been real easy. Drama does not live in my house!

Is he the one?….Well, like the post title say’s, I’ve brought home the chicken. Time will tell if he is willing to go get them cows for my daddy if ya get what I’m saying.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 1:32 am

    Okay…here’s me dropping my own word of prayer: He would be the last. 🙂

  2. May 2, 2011 12:25 pm

    Sounds like it’s gotten off to a fabulous start.. It can only get better…. There’s nothing better than when two people know what they want from a connection… Prayer list updated then….

  3. May 4, 2011 3:16 am

    Congratulations on your new relationship status…It’s my prayer that you find joy and peace with Alan, and may he be your last, according to God’s perfect will for you. Amen.

  4. May 4, 2011 6:41 pm

    Oh lord, don’t even start talking to me about cow and non-Nigerians… Don’t want to start no beef >.<

    But if cows do become involved, I will be incredibly interested to see how it works out for you 🙂 (and thus follow your example)

  5. May 17, 2011 8:54 pm

    *doing the dougie*
    Glad to know you’re happy, I’m joining Seye in offering up a prayer that this will be your last.

  6. David permalink
    June 7, 2011 5:54 pm

    🙂 Oye, love this. Listen Lo you’ve got such a charisma. is he the one? hey if the chicken plucks you when you grab its eggs after laying it you’ll know. :). hey but oye, you described a great guy. when to or more (Seye , One3snapshot and I) agrees its done prayer answered. Amen. 🙂

  7. lolobloggs permalink*
    June 14, 2011 10:10 pm

    Thank you all so much for comments, good wishes and prayers, they are much appreciated. I’ll let Alan know he is a welcome addition to blogville! lol!

Leave a Reply

