Skip to content

Brain Dump: Anniversaries, Aunties and Egusi & hard dough bread

October 2, 2011

Amen to the ‘Indian Autumn’ we’re having here in London at the moment. The last few days have grazed the late 25 – 30 degrees mark (80s for the farenheit folk) and although it is now freaky given that we are in October, I am not complaining at all.

Earlier this week, I had to sunbathe from the comfort of my couch as I struggled to recover from illness, but by Friday, after work meant a trip down to the Southbank for sunset by the river. Saturday was a beautiful walk through Ladbroke Grove & Portobello Road where I met and fell in love with an antique treasure chest (it sent me subliminal messages from the street).

Great timing, because I’m moving home and will be procuring lots of bits and bobs as Alan and I make our mark on our new abode. Yes, we are setting up our very own love shack. We’ve passed the year mark, both require a change of address and so the stars aligned for new chapters. Bring it on. But this raised a new question….

When you’re not married, what do you celebrate as an anniversary? The day you met? We can vaguely remember this. Your first date? A bit of iCal magic helped work this out. When you became an item? I have no idea when this was, haven’t done the whole will you be my girlfriend malarchy since primary school. The first date doesn’t feel like a solid enough moment, but I’m up for finding ways to get him to buy me gifts!

Today has been as lovely as yesterday, Sunday lunch in a pub garden, stroll through Liverpool Street to grab some red velvet cake from one of my favourite bakeries and a horrific chance encounter with one of my auties, her husband and mother. It wouldn’t have been so bad, if it wasn’t their first meeting with Alan. Along with a lot of hugging and grinning and shouts of joy, they managed to sneak in the usual “When are you getting married?” “Don’t waste time!” and some extra bits in Yoruba for my ears only. Gee, what fun.

Anyhoo, tonight is a chillax, watch Star Trek and eat leftovers night. I’ve managed to convince Alan of the benefits of eba with egusi stew, but his latest combo of egusi stew and hard dough bread took it to levels I hadn’t ever thought about.

Roll on October…I’m ready for ya!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 7:11 pm

    It’s a wonder a full year has rolled on since then… How time flies by subsumed in the mundane, quotidian things that fill daily life. Guess all that counts is the future..

    I am minded to echo the whispered words of the Aunt, only my grandmother warned me about an old man with few teeth laughing at a proverb where corn with a few seeds is mentioned… 🙂

  2. October 4, 2011 1:33 pm

    Well…I would celebrate when you first met. That is if you had a steady progression from that moment. Or celebrate when you first said “I love you” if you can remember the month, pick a day and let that be that! Aunties are ALWAYS rushing us to marriage and children. I just got the “Don’t waste time, O!” speech the other day.

    Best wishes on the love shack! I love to here about people in love.

  3. December 13, 2011 9:43 pm

    Egusi and bread? My poor eyes

    Adiya
    Muse Origins
    Muse Origins FB

  4. May 10, 2013 8:58 pm

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with helpful information to work on.
    You have performed a formidable process and our whole community can
    be grateful to you.

  5. May 27, 2013 12:41 am

    Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this site, and paragraph is in fact fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these articles or reviews.

Leave a comment