Skip to content

Ain’t I a woman?

May 21, 2009

Soujourner Truth, one of the mothers of feminism. Better known for her anti-slavery work this woman was also all about being a woman who stands next to and not behind a man. I have to thank her and all other women’s rights activists and feminists who have come since, these women who talk of empowerment and progress and equality between the sexes and all that great stuff….

Sunday evening I had a long phonecall with my mother. She is the Director of Accounts where she works. The big boss-lady. Her nickname is Thatcher because she is 5’1, feisty and she doesn’t really take any kind of “ridin ridin” (can’t translate exactly, just means not being sharp and on the ball).

Mum: So what are you eating tonight?
Me: Oh, I’m going out on a date actually
Mum: Ei-ya, we thank God. Remember don’t tell him too much about your job.
Me: Huh? Why?
Mum: Well, just don’t talk about it too much, you know say you just work in IT, don’t talk about the work itself or get too specific…he will think you don’t need him
Me: er….ok….um….
Mum: Sweetheart, you just have to be realistic ok?

So here I am. My own mother, role model supreme tells me if I want to hook a man, I have to talk myself down. I have a lot of respect for this lady, but to say my skin crawls at the idea of playing myself down is an understatement.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not some super high flying ball-busting chic, too lazy and life loving for that (no apologies for it either!). But because of my mother, I had an excellent education, I have a very good job in a male dominated industry, holding my own with the blokes and getting on with it. If I was gonna get this far and start talking myself down, shouldn’t I have just quit after uni and waited for Olu to come and take his bride?!

I have a stong suspicion my mother was talking for effect, it’s getting to the point where she’ll say anything so she can start planning a wedding….well that’s what I’m choosing to believe, no way she meant that pile of crap…..right folks??

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Danny BaGucci permalink
    May 21, 2009 5:14 pm

    guess yr mum was only tring to be pragmatic….in truth thyough.. a real dude would not feel threatened by your acheivements.. should be proud to be associated with a high perfrmer I think… .i dunno…

  2. LoloBloggs permalink
    May 22, 2009 6:53 pm

    @DannyB My mother does not do pragmatic, she does what is necessary! A real dude shouldn’t be threatened, but I bet you know many guys who would be…

Leave a Reply

