Skip to content

Serendipity and me…

May 9, 2009

This is my 51st post on this blog! It feels great to be half a century old..may I never run out of things to say!

Def: Serendipity is the effect by which one accidentally discovers something fortunate, especially while looking for something else entirely.

When I decided to go travelling, I never had a big dream or desire to travel the world, I didn’t ever envisage myself doing the whole backpacker thing. My friends and I did Caribbean holidays in style (yaknowharramsaying!), we talked about travelling, but it was just talk.

At one point I concluded I didn’t want to live in the UK for the rest of my life and thought about Brazil, it was just a decision I made in my head. Then I received The Alchemist as an xmas gift, I felt my heart stir, all the previous conversations and thoughts linked together and knew I had to go travelling or I would be miserable for all eternity.

The last thing I was expecting 5 months before I left was to be offered a new job in my ideal career (a friend contacted me out of the blue, I wasn’t job hunting). They were happy for me to go away for 6 months and guaranteed me a job on my return. Sorted, cue the best 6 months of my life.

On the Monday just gone I got an email out of the blue offering me the opportunity to test out an idea I’ve had for a long time. This person did not know me, they simply found my email address via my ramblings and various trips around the dubya dubya dubya and sent out an email asking a few questions. Now I have the opportunity to see my idea come to life. They came across me by chance.

If we were talking about luck I would be the winner of the £110million EuroMillions lottery last night (one ticket in Spain got all that cash!!!!). I’m not lucky, but I’m open to seeing things others sometimes don’t see.

Above all I’m a big believer in regretting the things you did and not the things you didn’t do, so if you find serendipity knocking, take a second to think about what its telling you.

And now for the geekery; there is a lot of web talk about catering for serendipity searches. Developers and PhD students are often exploring the phenomenon and trying to create those experiences (I’m not convinced!!). I’ve come across this site that offers you a search which claims to give you nice surprises. Didn’t do jack for me so go figure! www.serendipitysearch.co.uk

(Photo above I took in Salvador, Bahia in Brazil. The writing is in Yoruba, and translates as “God, I am grateful”)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. One Naija Dude permalink
    May 9, 2009 9:31 pm

    Quite an interesting life you’ve got it seems – Nice!

  2. scribble,me.free permalink
    May 10, 2009 7:51 am

    I wanna be you when I grow up. 🙂

    I heard a few years ago that there’s a Yoruba speaking tribe in Brazil, always dismissed it as rumor…

  3. LoloBloggs permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:05 am

    @One Naija Dude You only hear about the interesting bits! Thanks for coming by!

    @Scribbles I was amazed to have convos with people in Brazil who put my Yoruba to shame! They have a whole museum dedicated to their Yoruba heritage in Salvador worth seeing!

    Drop me an email and I’ll send you links.

  4. Shubby Doo permalink
    May 11, 2009 8:53 pm

    awww sweetie…i am so happy for you…best of luck with bringing your idea to life

    p.s
    what was brazil like?…i going to argentina in sept…it will be my first time in south america… so i’m very excited

  5. Shubby Doo permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:02 pm

    congrats on 51 posts…whatever u have to say..me i sha want to read 🙂

    been here jsut shy of a year and 35posts for me is a HUGE accoplishment

  6. Shubby Doo permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:06 pm

    p.s
    how was brazil?

    i finally getting to go to south america in autumn…argentina…i’m so excited

    pp.s
    i remember watching a documentary about voodoo cultures in brazil when i was very young…that is how i know that yoruba is spoken there…but they called it the devil’s language on TV…which really upset me.

    is that really true?…perhaps it was just the oyinbo man putting a spin on it *sighs*

  7. LoloBloggs permalink
    May 12, 2009 12:05 am

    @ShubbyDoo Brazil was AMAZING!!! Definitely feel like it’s somewhere I could live permanently. I didn’t get to Argentina, I’ve heard its quite different, much more chilled out. What I wouldn’t do to head back to south america this year…*sigh

    Ain’t no devil worship that I saw! They just still heavily follow the old Orisha (they called it Orixa) deities. Pretty much the same as old skool Naija, except in today’s Christain context, people choose to call it voodoo.

  8. davespeaks permalink
    May 15, 2009 4:11 pm

    following your dream.

    Dave

  9. lifebydb permalink
    May 16, 2009 9:56 am

    WOW.. COngrats on 51 posts.. Tot I’d commented on this though.. The obvious has become apparent, I did not!

  10. such-is-life permalink
    May 18, 2009 1:38 pm

    waoh…I don’t think it’s luck though…it’s God taking special interest in u…all d best at ur new job, n d new idea…

    cheers

  11. justdoyin permalink
    May 18, 2009 1:40 pm

    waoh…I don’t think it’s luck though…it’s God taking special interest in u…all d best at ur new job, n d new idea…

    cheers

  12. LoloBloggs permalink
    May 18, 2009 2:42 pm

    @DaveSpeaks Thanks!

    @LifebyDB how many web aliases do you have?! lol! Thank you!

    @JustDoyin I gotta agree that God is always on my side 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Black Girl Long Hair and Me « Afro Geek Chic
  2. Farewell Noughties, hello tens? teens? « Afro Geek Chic

Leave a comment